5 Comments

I like reading singles issues as they're published for a lot of the same reasons you do. If it's on older series, I often look on eBay for someone selling the entire series. I don't mind TPB's but always prefer old school comics. Right now I'm reading Snakes Above, Eight Billion Genies, and The Closet. Enjoy!

Expand full comment

I've mostly been a trades reader, largely because a lot of stuff I've read I've come to long after initial publishing. Also, my entry point to comics as an adult was Alan Moore's classics, and those DO work extremely well as single collected volumes.

In recent years I have committed to a few series by issue: Saga, WicDiv, now Eternals by KG. WicDiv is a good example actually - I was immensely invested on those characters, reading it over the course of several years. At the same time, though, the publishing schedule meant that by the end I was quite confused about what was actually going on, simply because it was quite difficult to remember the intricacies of the world building and plot. Re-reading it through as collected versions made a lot more sense.

I suspect it depends a lot on the way the story is conceived. I can't imagine reading a lot of Alan Moore's stuff as individual issues, for example. Whereas the Transformers UK comics I read as a kid in the 80s and 90s is 100% issue-by-issue in my mind.

Expand full comment